The Robinator is pretty serious about this beer. As supportive as he normally is...it was determined that he could NOT go Gluten-free with me early on because of his love of drinking beer while watching a game.
Oh...and dude is a SERIOUS beer snob. None of that beer commercial stuff for him. He's all bourgie with his beer choices. So when we found out about Omission beer...he decided to try it out. Omission Beer
Here is what the company says about their beer:
According to federal guidelines, we aren’t legally allowed to claim that Omission beer is gluten-free outside of Oregon because the beer is brewed with malted barley. While the FDA proposed to define the term “gluten-free,” that definition has not been formally adopted by the organization.
Part of the definition proposed in 2007, and again in 2011, states that a product may not be labeled as gluten-free if it contains “an ingredient that is derived from a prohibited grain that has been processed to remove gluten, if the use of that ingredient results in the presence of 20 parts per million (ppm) or more gluten in the food.”
While Omission beer does contain barley, one of the “prohibited grains” in this definition, all batches are tested by an independent lab using the R5 Competitive ELISA to ensure that gluten levels meet our standards. Although scientific evidence supports the testing, the evidence is not conclusive. All Omission beer test results can be viewed at: www.omissiontests.com
Cool huh? Would YOU ever try?